Skip to content

Second Life- Amanda Heath

November 22, 2010
by

Second Life was an interesting experience for me as a newbie to virtual realities.  I can appreciate the time, effort, and detail that went into the creation of prims but clearly the virtual world is not for me.  I can’t imagine at the moment having enough free time in the real world to actually spend that much time in the virtual world.  It also seems odd to me to spend a large amount of time crafting an avatar to present yourself to a world that is not real.  I can see how some of the networking functions could be beneficial and perhaps I will to attend some in the future.  I think in order to fully take advantage of what Second Life has to offer a user would have to spend a considerable amount of time getting over the newbie experience.  I am much more inclined to listen to a podcast while I am doing the dishes than log into Second Life to attend a lecture.   I view Second Life as just another tool, one that some people are more suited for than others.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 5:40 pm

    I can’t imagine doing much else than talking or listening whilst doing the dishes so I’ll have to agree but wonder why you compared the two.

Leave a Reply

