Skip to content

Let’s Get Physical

November 22, 2010
by

I found that my experience with Second Life seemed to highlight my relationship with physical objects. Once I figured out how to navigate myself through the SL world, I spent some time enhancing my wardrobe and learning how to build. I got lost in the textures menus for both clothing and prims and found myself considering the various weights of fabrics and materials in the physical world as I made decisions in my new SL environment. The experience made me realize that when I do have the time to be creative with materials that are traditionally not screen-based, I find myself longing to hold them in my hands; I want to sew fabric made of fibers and I want to carve and position heavy slabs of stone. Ultimately, my time in SL inspired me to be creative, but perhaps ironically, the type of creativity it inspired involves physical objects. I haven’t had nearly enough time to make art during graduate school and as I come to the close of my time at SLIS, I’m getting excited to take things off-screen and create again. And even more exciting is the potential to create physical things with my hands and then share some aspect of them with the world via the Internet. I don’t know that I’ll spend much more time in SL, but I appreciate the reminder of my relationship with the physical world.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    December 4, 2010 1:33 pm

    How cool to learn you are an artist! And I appreciate the thoughtful response about how SL makes us understand our interaction in RL. For me that’s what it’s all about: a fake reality to see the real reality in a fuller light.

Leave a Reply

