Skip to content

Typographic Tips and Tools

October 29, 2010
by

Hello everyone! I am really more of a techie than a graphic designer (as anyone who has visited my pages will attest) so I’m always on the lookout for information to make the appearance of my pages better. One particular area where I need help is in typography, that is how to use fonts to their best effect. I recently came across a good collection of tools and tips which, while a bit old, has helped me to understand what parameters are involved in deciding on typographic design. The page is, “50 Useful Design Tools For Beautiful Web Typography”. Perhaps it will be of use to some of you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 10:56 pm

    I love fonts and type! I don’t know why, but your link led to some other article. I was interested enough to type a search in the corner for “typography” and it led me straight to your article. Anyway, I decided to look over your link to see if it matched the one that my search provided me with, and it was exactly the same! But for some reason, once you click on your link, it automatically changes to another address. I don’t know what’s going on, but I just wanted to let you know that you have the right link, and everyone else that you can just type a quick search.

    Anyway, I really did love reading the tips and looking at the examples! I think it was worth the effort to run a quick search.

    Here’s a url that can be copied an pasted:

    http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2009/01/27/css-typographic-tools-and-techniques/

  2. October 29, 2010 11:20 pm

    This is a fantastic resource, thank you for sharing. I love reading about design and tips but still feel as if I have no control over what I’m doing. I guess the only way to get better is to keeping playing in the proverbial sandbox.

  3. cfolk permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:36 pm

    Weird. It went to the wrong place for me as well, but I swear I checked it before posting. Anyway, I redid the anchor and it seems to work again, but who knows. Here is another link to more typography stuff.

Leave a Reply

