Skip to content

Fun times with Fair Use and Copyrights

October 29, 2010

This is a great and entertaining video about copyrights and fair use.  It was created by Professor Eric Faden of Bucknell University and he uses bits and pieces of Disney movies to explain copyright law.  The video is 10 minutes long and is made entirely with Disney clips and still manages to fall under the fair use guidelines.

The official webpage for the project is located at:

http://cyberlaw.stanford.edu/documentary-film-program/film/a-fair-y-use-tale

Or you can watch just the video on Youtube at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJn_jC4FNDo

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 7:12 pm

    This was highly entertaining! Of course I am a sucker for Disney animation so it wasn’t hard to watch at all. I think I might hi-jack this video to educate the students at my school. Thanks!

  2. KPrice permalink
    October 29, 2010 7:28 pm

    awesome!

  3. October 29, 2010 9:11 pm

    it’s great because the use of Disney… I wonder if Walt was still around and he saw this… what his actions would have been. From what I understand, he was a brutal guy…
    Christine

  4. cfolk permalink
    October 29, 2010 9:44 pm

    I actually found that rather terrifying! Maybe I had too much coffee. It does remind me that I wanted to read up on copyright law and fair use, though, so thank you for the reminder.

  5. October 29, 2010 10:16 pm

    This was amazing! And I learned a lot about copyright and fair use!

  6. rosemh1981 permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:47 pm

    I can clearly see where the producer of this movie stands in regards to copyright but thats ok. It was a very entertaining. I can see high school teachers using it in their classrooms. I’m going to hold onto this one and see if its a resource we can use at my school. Thank you so much for finding it and sharing it with us!

    Matt

Leave a Reply

