Skip to content

Disabled Users

October 29, 2010

I was poking around on the net and I came across this UK website, http://www.webcredible.co.uk/user-friendly-resources/web-accessibility/disabled-users-access-internet.shtml that takes a look at the multiple ways disabled users access the Internet. It challenges us as users, to try and navigate the net without our customary tools, like a mouse and keyboard or even a monitor. I think it’s great that more and more attention is being given to those users, who are often times ignored by the public. I actually tried one suggestion of using only my Keyboard to navigate around web pages and it was not easy. Accessibility is defiantly an issue that the public should pay attention to, because everyone should be able to use technology, no matter what a person’s disability could be.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Hajas permalink
    October 29, 2010 3:16 pm

    I have actually done this myself testing different browsers using keyboard only. I found that Opera and Safari were the easiest and best for using keyboard only. I am wondering if libraries test their websites in different browsers to see how they function. It might be a good idea. I like the topic.

  2. October 29, 2010 4:02 pm

    I was so happy when our library finally purchased an adapted keyboard and mouse. I am constantly faced with new ways in which we are not accessible because there are things we simply take for granted as being perfectly fine. I hope as we move forward we will be increasingly consious of our patrons different levels of ability.

  3. October 29, 2010 7:05 pm

    I was just thinking today that I wanted to add closed captioning to my YouTube video but I couldn’t do it. We have quite a few disabled students at my school and I find it so interesting that they have just as much of a tendency to surf the web and look at or listen to the same junk as every other student!

  4. October 29, 2010 11:26 pm

    I think this is going to be a really hot topic not only because making the web accessible to all users is the right thing to do but if The Americans With Disabilities Act is expanded to include the internet it could someday be illegal for web pages to not be in compliance just like any other public space.

Leave a Reply

