Skip to content

Copyright for educators and school librarians

October 29, 2010

For this assignment I chose to review the website “Copyright for Teachers and School Librarians.” I chose this site because of my awareness that I know very little about copyright. My goal was to find a primer useful for my own interests. This is worth your while if you intend on specializing in school librarianship or if you are currently a classroom teacher. It is part of PROPEL (Primary Resources Opening Portals to Enhance Learning) a project funded by the Library of Congress to integrate the LOC’s digital collections into classroom curriculum. The thirteen units can all be watched in 1 hour. There are additionally question and answer videos covering many common situations educators find themselves in.

http://users.mhc.edu/facultystaff/awalter/Brim%20site/index.html

Thanks, Matt

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 10:42 pm

    Hi Matt, thanks for posting, I know I will definitely use this guide in the future when making decisions about what items to use or not use and copyright issues involved.

  2. October 29, 2010 11:06 pm

    anything dealing with laws and copyright laws are always important to know, because no one likes getting sued!

  3. October 29, 2010 11:18 pm

    You can never know enough about copyright law. The University of Texas has a fantastic crash course in copyright law that I watch to re-freshen my understanding from time to time: http://www.library.musc.edu/page.php?id=1324.

  4. kcannarozzi permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:33 pm

    I can’t believe that I hadn’t heard of this resource before. I always break out in a cold sweat when copyright comes up as I find it thoroughly confusing and dangerous. I will definitely be spending some time on this website in the very near future. Kudos for bringing this to our attention!

  5. pete408 permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:48 pm

    That site looks like a great resource for educators. I am increasingly becoming more aware of copyright issues; for our video assignment this week, I did quite a bit of research on the web to ensure that I was not violating copyright by my use of certain photographs. Prior to my experience in library school, I was very much oblivious to how important this issue is.

Leave a Reply

