Skip to content

Webpage Accessibility

October 28, 2010

I am also very interested in webpage accessibility to allow all people to fully participate in the Internet.  Not only is this socially responsible, but the American with Disabilities Act (ADA) requires accessibility in the virtual world as well as in the real world.   The Accessible Webpage Design webpage is a great resource; it is a library of links to webpages that cover various issues and accessibility and how-to guides.  It is found at:

http://library.uwsp.edu/aschmetz/accessible/pub_resources.htm#Guidelines.

I looked at a link to World Wide Access:  Accessible Web Design, from the University of Washington at

http://www.washington.edu/doit/Brochures/Technology/universal.design.html

Along with general information about the types of disabilities that hinder accessing web content and a statement about the W3Cs Content Accessibility Guidelines, there is a list of practical ways to make your webpages accessible.  Many are things that we have already discussed in our class such as using standard xHTML, form structure, and making sure your code validates.  Other suggestions include testing your page with at least one text-based browser like Lynx with graphics and sound-loading features turned off, making sure all features of the website can be accessed by keyboard alone for those who cannot use the mouse, making background colors contrast sharply with text colors for easier reading, and making sure links contain enough information to be understood out of context by those using screen reading software.  Free accessibility testing software includes  A-Prompt http://www.aprompt.ca/ and Wave.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dora Mitchell permalink
    October 29, 2010 12:25 pm

    This is a handy resource, thanks! I like having a list of issues and suggestions to refer to in one place.

    It’s kind of funny though that the page on Accessible Webpage Design is in a totally blinding color scheme, don’t you think? That ultramarine blue background with white and yellow text– it’s burned onto my retinas!! Maybe it’s just me 🙂

  2. shalizzard permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:22 pm

    Thanks for the resources. I’ll definitely be consulting them when I do my final project. It’s good to understand why exactly a page needs to be coded a certain way, in order to make the page accessible to everyone on the web.
    I agree though that it’s totally funny how blinding the background is. I had to disable the colors to make it readable!

  3. Nicole Branch permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing these resources– I especially like the links to sites that break things down into easy to follow lists (like this site: http://www.webhostingsearch.com/articles/beginners-guide-to-web-accessibility.php found on the Accessible Webpage Design). These are great checklists to run through as you design and complete a site.

  4. Sandy Hajas permalink
    October 29, 2010 3:22 pm

    This is a great resource thank you. I am going to keep this link to refer to when I do my project as well. I have some very definite ideas for my project in regards to accessibility so I think this will help.
    I too thought the background was a little striking but they probably did that for color coding issues.

  5. October 29, 2010 9:35 pm

    Great source page, even though I struggle through each weekly assignments and believe that I will not be continuing any further web creation activity but this is useful for anything that I may have to face in future assignments to come.

Leave a Reply

