Skip to content

Jakob Nielson and Accessibility

October 28, 2010

http://www.nngroup.com/reports/accessibility/beyond_ALT_text.pdf

This is a report from NNG, the Nielson Norman Group. I stumbled upon Jakob Nielson’s website- useit.com – when I was in 202. I chose this report because I wanted to learn more about uaccessibility and people with disabilities. I admit that until Derek discussed this topic in class I’d never given it more than a fleeting thought. The report is easy to read and offers great suggestions on how to make websites more accessible to people with disabilities. It’s an interesting read!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon permalink
    October 28, 2010 9:00 pm

    Thanks for the link to the article, I’m looking forward to exploring it. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about accessibility, but before this class, the bulk of it wasn’t focused on access for people with disabilities. In my previous life I was a radio producer on an English-language show that had a Spanish-language sister program. In addition to programming, I worked on the website and the weekly electronic newsletter. When it came time to find a vendor to support our newsletter distribution in a more automated way, I surveyed the top providers and did a complete comparison. I asked all the cost and technical details I could think of, but failed in one big way: I never asked about support for languages other than English. And in fact, the service we went with, could not, at the time, handle the accents in the Spanish section of our newsletter. From that point on, I spent a good deal of time focusing on the language consideration in for everything we did online. That experience introduced me to a new area of accessibility, and I feel the same way about this class. I’m glad to learn that the potential technological tools have to help serve disabled populations is really being harnessed and that, as designers and programmers, we have an opportunity to contribute that growth and form of service.

  2. jbrasch permalink
    October 28, 2010 9:06 pm

    Indeed, this is a very important topic and one that I’m glad was emphasized in this class. It will be interesting to see how issues of accessibility on the web develop in a legal context. With respect to physical accessibility, the law paved the way through public accommodation laws. It’s nice to think that people might make websites more accessible on their own (as Derek is encouraging us to do), but unfortunately I see this needing the force of law at some point.

Leave a Reply

