Skip to content

Community weblogs

October 27, 2010

I thought I’d use my turn at the pulpit at a community weblog to point to one of my favorites. I was a faithful BoingBoing reader for a long while (and was BoingBoinged once, to my eternal nerdy joy) but these days I spend a lot more time at MetaFilter. It’s a group linkblog on the surface, but has in-depth posts generated by users, lively discussion, and a certain amount of intellectual randomness I find very appealing. It’s way better than “random page” wikipedia trawling and the next best thing to my own set of RSS subscriptions. If I can hook one of you (or even hear a whole bunch of shouted responses of ‘of course we knew about that already,’ I’ll be happy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jbrasch permalink
    October 29, 2010 4:01 pm

    One of my favorite expressions is “don’t yuck on someone else’s yum,” but I must admit, I do not get what you like about this site! I find it overwhelming and difficult to follow. The homepage is information-overload for me (Where are all of these posts coming from?! How are they organized?! Why is every other word pea-soup green?!) I followed the Tags link and found a tag cloud (phew, I know what that is), but I clicked on a tag and felt like I was back down the rabbit hole. The About page is candid about the fact that it takes a while to get a “feel” for the place, but I just can’t imagine wanting to do that. To each his own I guess. I’m glad it’s a “yum” for you!

  2. wessie12 permalink
    October 29, 2010 9:09 pm

    I’m certainly not a fan of many of the blogs found on the Internet. Often times, the comments posted on various topics (political, social, etc.) are harsh and mean-spirited. However, I was willing to take a look at MetaFilter. One of the best things about this particular blog is that members are able to post job openings. Also, MetaFilter Music is an interesting site where members can share their music with others.

Leave a Reply

