Skip to content

Web Master quizzes at Funbrain

October 26, 2010

I came to library and information science and eventually LIBR 240 as a public school teacher with the desire of becoming a teacher librarian. Anything that combines fun and learning is a treasure as a teacher (or anyone). This website provides an interactive and colorful way to review learned information about html basics, with 3 levels of difficulty. When the user answers correctly, part of a picture is revealed and when the answer is wrong, the accurate answer is given. There are many teacher librarians in the MLIS program who could benefit from knowing about this website. Some of them may, in time, teach html to secondary students and could use this website with them, for practice or review. Those who will not be teaching others can use it themselves to check their own learning. It covers many things that we have learned this semester about html.

Monica Hein

http://www.funbrain.com/html/index.html

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 7:46 pm

    What a great resource. I actually did a couple of the quizzes- fun! I could see that website being used in elementary schools to teach kids html in a fun, interactive way. I’ll keep it in mind, and pass it on to the children’s librarian at my library.

  2. AlanP permalink
    October 27, 2010 7:55 pm

    Pretty cool. I wouldn’t necessarily say this could be used in elementary school.(I know in my day I would not have been able to comprehend html coding in elementary school haha), but this could be fun and informative for those who want to learn about coding for beginners.

  3. Andrew M. permalink
    October 27, 2010 9:17 pm

    I _love_ online quizzes (one never knows where one’s next magnificent trivia pull is going to come from) and I love that it’s about HTML coding. I’m sure a few elementary school students would love to be pointed at that.

    (general nudge in the direction of (as if anyone needed more procrastination tools.

  4. Andrew M. permalink
    October 27, 2010 9:18 pm

    *sighs* I shouldn’t do this late at night; at least my code is cleaner for class than my parentheses are.

    sporcle.com!

    Give it a shot.

  5. coursenn permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:35 am

    What fun! I have an education background as well, and I agree that we learn best when we’re having fun. I completed two quizzes at funbrain, and I was rather proud that I was able to make two pictures without an error! I am learning a lot in this course! Thanks for directing me to this resource!

Leave a Reply

