Skip to content

8 Websites You Need to Stop Building

October 26, 2010
by

As you all know, part of this week’s assignment is to post a link to an article or item that will be educational to the class. Well, as Derek has been saying since Week 1, this work is also about having fun, so here is something that I think is fun (and hopefully educational as well): 8 Websites You Need to Stop Building, created by The Oatmeal.

There are at least two other web design-related comics by The Oatmeal, How a Web Design Goes Straight to Hell, and Why You Don’t Like Changes to Your Design, both of which are also very funny, but geared more towards the web design professional.

8 Websites You Need to Stop Building relates to several issues touched on in this course, namely: understanding the basics of how users abandon pages (Week 4); examples of good and bad design from the usability POV (Week 5); layout styles from past and fads/trends in design (Week 5); Web 2.0 as means to a communal end: not end in itself (Week 9); and developing a jaundiced eye for technological fads on the web (Week 9).

I hope everyone enjoys the comic! If you did, The Oatmeal has comics on other topics of equally great importance, such as grammar, bacon, and of course, kitties.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 7:22 pm

    Great article. I LOL’d at number 7- about the Flash intros. That’s very true though. Sites with those long, drawn out intros really deter potential users. I always skip intros if they have that option. Who wants to wait 1 minute or so before being able to see a website?

  2. October 27, 2010 9:45 pm

    I think this cartoon is amusing, however I do think there will always be bigger and better websites that will be the next new trend that everyone will hop on and information professionals need to be aware of these and embrace them.

  3. October 27, 2010 10:04 pm

    I love it, in Why You Don’t Like Changes to Your Design, when the client says “I need you to build me a robot that captures the essence of ocean waves crashing upon my squishy, glowing heart during a majestic sunrise of web 2.0 lovemaking.” So funny. The 2 web design-related comics complement each other because one is from the designer perspective and the other, the client. They show how crazy and difficult both sides can be if they lose sight of the goal and don’t stay open. And so funny.

  4. Ann Ha permalink
    October 28, 2010 8:37 am

    LOL!! This is an awesome comic! In this age and time we have way too many social network websites and it great to see the humor in a comic. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  5. October 28, 2010 6:56 pm

    So awesome! Thanks!

  6. October 29, 2010 10:49 am

    Funny.

    I love that Humor can highlight how ridiculous we sometimes are (and apparently have no clue).

    Thanks

  7. Nicole Branch permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:25 pm

    funny. I like “I brought my mother into the loop”.

  8. jptrolinger permalink
    October 29, 2010 5:50 pm

    I can relate to this comic. I tried to do the social networking websites. However, I was really late in the game. When I first signed up, I signed up to Friendster. Within a week, I was laughed at and was told Friendster was for “Noobs.” “Myspace is where it’s at!”

    As I checked my Myspace every 30 minutes for the next few months, I started to wonder where are all my friends going?

    And now of course….now we have Facebook, which I still do not have an account on, because I know as soon as I make one everyone is going to leave to a new website. So really, I am saving you all some trouble.

Leave a Reply

