Skip to content

Quick overview of digital storytelling

October 25, 2010

Rule, L. (2010) Digital storytelling: Never has storytelling been so easy or so powerfulKnowledge Quest, 38(4), 56-7.

I checked the databases at King Library this week to get a better idea of  how digital storytelling is being used. I found this article which gives a clear picture of what digital storytelling is and how it can be applied in the school library setting. It explains that digital storytelling is a great way to teach about various technologies and their application, as well as give students a voice on topics of personal importance to them. I like the idea of using digital storytelling as a creative means for students reflect on and share experiences that have helped shape who they are.

I thought this was a timely article to share, since we are all preparing a digital story this week. I’m looking forward to seeing what I’m sure will be a wide variety of interesting stories!

Marian


3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 5:49 pm

    Marian,

    The link that you posted does not seem to work, at least I could not get it to work. I did however manage to track down this article and I found it very interesting. This article made me think back to my freshman year of high school. In one of my classes we were assigned a short video project. These videos were called “I am videos” and was my first experience with digital storytelling. This was in 1996 and so are assignment had to be turned in on VHS, but I must say it was an interesting experience both making the video and watching other videos. It gave me a different perspective on my classmates. Reading this article confirmed that I am indeed a millennial. It made me want to track down the video I made, its probably in a box at my parents house somewhere. This article also quoted Marshall McLuhan, which brought me back to an Art class I took in college after all the medium is the message. After taking this class and learning more and more about the internet, I think I need to go back and reread some of his work.

    • October 26, 2010 5:57 pm

      Hi,

      I’m glad the article took you down memory lane – I’m so glad we don’t have to deal with VHS!

      I know my link doesn’t work – it did at first. I posted a question on ‘Teknikal S’port’ hoping someone else would have a suggestion on how to fix it. I don’t understand why it’s not working.

      Marian

      _____

  2. Ann Ha permalink
    October 28, 2010 8:31 am

    As Sammy pointed out, the link still does not work. I think it doesn’t work because it is not a public article. I emailed the article to myself and got this link: http://libaccess.sjlibrary.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lih&AN=51252349&site=ehost-live
    Hope it helps!

    To comment on the article, I’m really glad that someone else enjoys digital story telling too. When I learned about this week’s assignment and read this post, I was overjoyed! I have always thought that one person’s past can change and impact the future of another person. . 🙂

Leave a Reply

