Skip to content

Christine Kim’s final project

October 8, 2010

I would like to do my final project on library cats and the Library Cat Society. I first found out about library cats through Dewey Readmore Books, a former library cat from Iowa.

I would organize the site like this:
home page
job description
basic rules for cats who have libraries to run
job application page (form) for cats
about site/about you page
site map/index
Library Cat Society info page
pages on where to visit library cats (with tables)
and I’m sure I can think of many more! These are just ones I thought of on the spot after doing some very quick research!!

Here are some sites that are helping me out with my research:
About Library Cats
Favorite Books
Map

I think this topic has more than enough information to construct a web page that will fulfill the final project’s requirements. However, I’m not sure if it’s LIS oriented enough… although it would definitely be a lot of fun to do. If this isn’t an appropriate topic, I will do something on archival practices, which would be easy enough to do because I’m interning at an archives this semester, but really wouldn’t be as fun to do a final project on as library cats would be.

But I really do think that library cats need more exposure, and it would make even more people think that libraries are super cool places with literate cats and used books that only cost 50 cents(!!), instead of drab places with old things and dust (which is not my formal opinion, just of people who excuse themselves from going to the library, their loss anyway).

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:37 pm

    Christine,

    You know my feelings on cats; I think it best for your eportfolio to do the later bit on archival practice.

    derek

Leave a Reply

