Skip to content

Nadeen’s Final Project

October 7, 2010

I am not a librarian, but I am a crafter. I’d like to create a quilt library for recommended books, magazines, blogs, and designers. I’ll utilize flikr and allow visitors to request the addition of new titles, blogs, etc. The project is unconventional for SLIS, I’m sure, but it’ll successfully serve as a personal reference tool and provide much-needed web design practice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole Branch permalink
    October 8, 2010 9:44 am

    Hi Nadeen!

    I like your topic a lot, and I don’t think it is unrelated to libraries. I’m sure there are a lot of library patrons that are quilters. Quilts have a lot of cultural significance as well, which also connects to libraries. Also, I met a woman who is a quilter and runs a quilting workshop as the West Oakland Branch of the Oakland Public library. Maybe there is a library quilting group in your area that meets in the library? That’s a potential audience.

    Nicole

  2. jbrasch permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:10 pm

    I will definitely be recommending your site to my sister, the quilter.

  3. clementmunns permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:48 pm

    Nadeen,

    This sounds like a good project; in the library world we call this sort of information aggregation a “pathfinder” and you should look into the format to help you do yours in an efficient way.

    derek

Leave a Reply

