Skip to content

Final Project Topic

October 7, 2010

I had a topic, then noticed that someone else was doing the same thing so I’ve decided that if it’s acceptable as a topic I would like to focus on extreme libraries.  I go to Burning Man, and it is all about freedom of expression.  So, what would a library be like out there?  There was a library theme camp in 2009, they called themselves the Black Rock City Public Library.  I will introduce the topic and give background on renegade/cutting edge libraries or programs in alternative communities, and then give some examples.  The Black Rock City Public Library would be one example.  I plan to get in touch with the people involved and talk to them about their experience, their programs, what they learned, how they impacted people, how they were impacted.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cfolk permalink
    October 8, 2010 2:20 am

    That’s a coincidence. I was chatting with a friend about her experiences at Burning Man this year, and I wondered myself what sort of library could be constructed out there. I’ll be sure to take a look at your final project.

  2. jbrasch permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:23 pm

    Wow. This is really interesting. I can’t wait to see the final product! My cousin is in the army and when he was stationed Fallujah he started a small lending library for the troops. That’s pretty extreme.

  3. clementmunns permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:47 pm

    Sofia,

    Let the freak flag wave.

    derek

Leave a Reply

