Skip to content

Final Project -teaching Information Literacy?

October 6, 2010
by

I’m having a hard time imagining a final project for this course.  However over the summer I did an internship at the nearby CSU Cal Maritime campus and discovered the world of teaching information literacy for children.  I created the content for teaching a student how to use Factiva and as well as material on pearl growing.  There is a lot of information available on this subject so there would probably be a lot of links.   I’d love to get some feedback on this idea.

Lanora

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jbrasch permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:43 pm

    I’ve been stuggling with this too, and not feeling like I have anything ready-to-go that will work well for this project. I think both of your ideas sound interesting, but am not 100% sure how they relate. Would it be a site focused on the pearl growing technique, with your Factiva guide as an example?

    • lanoras permalink
      October 8, 2010 4:29 pm

      Actually i was imagining the site to be focused on information literacy with pearl growing as one technique. Maybe pearl growing would have one page with relevant links and my prezi ( http://prezi.com/explore/?search=pearl+growing ). This would be for a beginning level student – or maybe experienced students who don’t have experience with online searches? I don’t know that i’d get into the research steps specific to any database. I was thinking about covering basic concepts of search tools, especially vocabulary would be appropriate. The Factiva guide I made is accessible only to students on a certain campus and was designed using the school colors etc. I mentioned it more as a reminder to myself that I can do something here. Of course today the whole idea seems dumb. Maybe i should do the final project on a day in the life of a page…

  2. clementmunns permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:43 am

    Lanora,

    This is a great subject and I look forward to your work.

    derek

Leave a Reply

