Skip to content

Final Project (as in: the last thing I’ll create at SLIS)

October 6, 2010
by

I am set to graduate this December and, assuming that I get my eportfolio done in the coming month, my LIBR 240 Final Project will be the last thing I create at SLIS. While I am interested in a number of LIS topics, I asked Derek for the okay on a slight modification to the subject scope as I won’t be using the site I create as evidence for my competencies. He gave me the okay on a topic that is currently the other central focus of my life: my wedding. I’m engaged to be married and we’re hoping to make it happen in Spring 2011. I know there are plenty of wedding website tools out there, but I thought I would apply my newly developed programming skills to a site of my own creation. Reading through all your posts has definitely inspired me, so who knows, maybe I’ll change my mind and go back to the LIS source of it all, but currently this is my plan.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. shajas permalink
    October 7, 2010 5:26 pm

    I am planning to graduate in the summer of 2011 and very excited. I will hopefully complete my portfolio next spring and be on my way with one more class to take in the summer. My final project revolves around a community college library website. I am planning to include a history, policies, staff photos, contacts, services, research assistance page that includes various points of contact, as well as research assistance. I also would like to develop a video tour of the library as well. I am also thinking about including an events calendar as well. One question. Is it possible to also link to other videos that were done by others? I have some and think it would be a nice addition to the website. I am a little nervous about the project but excited as well.
    Sandra

  2. Dora Mitchell permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:33 pm

    Oh wow, I’m in the same situation as Sharon– this is my last project, I graduate in December. Does that mean I can change to doing a non-LIS project too? I would love, love, LOVE it if I could build a website for my artwork instead.

  3. October 7, 2010 8:10 pm

    Me too. Who cares about Library Science? Oh yeah, us.

  4. jbrasch permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:17 pm

    Congratulations on graduation and your wedding! I used Google sites to create a site for my wedding last year, and after taking this class I wish I could go back and do it over again. We had a lot of out-of-town guests, so it was useful even though it was not very pretty. Have fun!

    • Sharon permalink
      October 18, 2010 9:28 pm

      Thanks for the good cheer!!

  5. clementmunns permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:51 pm

    Congratulations and best wishes are in order! Raise a glass and drink to life, love and bliss.

Leave a Reply

