Skip to content

Comic Club – final project topic

October 4, 2010

I am in the very beginning stages of business planning for a private comic book library.  I would charge a membership fee of about the cost of a graphic novel, and in exchange members could borrow from a wide selection of graphic novels, or sit in a comfy chair and read them there.  I thought it would be cool to create a website for my theoretical library for my final project.  I could have pages for location, membership fees/ sign-ups, a catalog, staff recommends, events, and all kinds of other things.

Do you all think this is too big of a project?  I thought it might save me some time in the future, if I ever manage to actually open this library.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 6:31 pm

    Sounds like a full blown website for a business. This would also require obtaining licenses for the graphics if this project succeeds for a business. Have fun!

  2. October 4, 2010 8:07 pm

    I think it’s very ambitious! Can you do it justice in the time we have left? I am kind of wondering the same for myself.
    Lorry

  3. Nicole Branch permalink
    October 5, 2010 8:01 am

    Your comic library is a great idea! Your website idea is good as well, though I was thinking as I read it that it might be cool to do a website of your business plan/some sort of marketing that you could then use as a promo tool to get support for the library. This could include your vision for the library, a timeline for planning, current supporters, future support needs, vision, etc… This might be a little less work than a website for a library that isn’t built yet and might be a little more practical for where you are at for the project. Just an idea!

    NIcole

  4. shalizzard permalink
    October 5, 2010 2:50 pm

    That’s a really good idea, Nicole! I may do something like that with a blog for the main page, and then other pages with info about my mission and other plans.

  5. jbrasch permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:23 pm

    Great idea for a project, and I like the modification suggested by Nicole. By focusing more on the now (your plan) than the future (what it will actually look like), you can concentrate on site design and funtionality rather than creating content. Good luck!

  6. clementmunns permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:35 am

    Shalyn,

    This is very cool and you’d make Ben Franklin proud.

    derek

Leave a Reply

