Skip to content

Second Life Adventures

August 5, 2010

I am of two minds when it come to Second Life.  I believe it is an awesome tool and offers users a unique opportunity to create a virtual learning environment.  I just read Thompson’s (see reference below)  article about how virtual reference desk allow patrons more comfort when asking sensitive topic questions.  The 24 hour access and portability are two other nice features that a virtual environment provides.  In addition I really like the ability to take classes from any location, and think that the virtual environment is pretty close to simulating a live learning environment.

With all that said, I will admit, I am not so compelled to spend my first life in second life.  The interface feels clunky to me, my computer keeps crashing or freezing periodically when I am using it, and I could do without the music.  I felt like it was very hard for me to navigate or really do much of anything.  Granted I am definitely a novice when it come to the virtual world, but it was fairly difficult for me to get used to the program.  Even after all of the orientation tutorials I still feel a bit lost.

It is not very user-friendly to new users, without someone putting a bit of a time commitment into using it.  This time commitment may not be feasible in for all patrons in the library environment.  However, I am sure a younger generation will have no problem adapting to navigating Second Life and may not feel like they need to invest in it before they are fully capable of completing the task at hand.

Thompson, S. (2010). I wouldn’t normally ask this …: or, sensitive questions and why  people seem more willing to ask them at a virtual reference desk.  The Reference Librarian, 51(2), 171-174. doi:10.1080/02763870903579869

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    August 9, 2010 8:26 am

    Supposedly one needs to 2.5+ hours in SL and then it becomes 2nd nature.

Leave a Reply

