Skip to content

Awful Interface Trumps Stellar Content (SL)

August 2, 2010

When I go into Second Life, I am reminded of the protagonist’s experience in Julio Cortázar’s short story, Axolotl.

SL unfortunately mirrors how I feel most of the time in the “real” world:  I have poor spatial orientation, poor coordination, and no sense of direction (I have gotten lost a block from apartments in which I lived for years), related or unrelated to early switching from potential left-handedness as a small child – read alarmist article section here.  :>  I avoid 3D video games where my character is immersed in a scene and can walk/spin around.  Finding my way around in real life is rough enough!  I don’t want to step into a virtual world that feels just as wobbly and uncertain.

Maps, coordinates, movable center of gravity – all not fun for me.  I’d love to go skydiving someday, and I adore rollercoasters, but SL is not for me:  It just exacerbates my very tangible First Life frustrations.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    August 9, 2010 8:44 am

    HCI in action…or lack thereof.

Leave a Reply

