Skip to content

Ungroup Redux

July 6, 2010
by

Just wanted to take a moment to pass along something from the Voices That Matter Conference which dovetails nicely with the ungroup activity; it’s the notion of value ranking systems and online identity merged with trust. Part of the assignment was to rank peers for contribution to the collective effort. There was nothing to be earned or lost as far as the grade went, but in a group of just 11 participants (one of whom dropped due to personal circumstances and one did not participate) I received scores giving both of these ungroup members a 4 or 5. In the latter case this group member self-rated as a 1 and said plainly “I did not participate” yet a statistically significant portion of the group ranked this person as making a real contribution (in a 5 point system 3 is 60% or failing, 4 is 80%).

The conference included a presentation by a senior user interaction researcher from Google, the slides are here:

http://senna.sjsu.edu/dchristiansen/vtm/social-design-adams.pdf

One Comment leave one →
  1. Antonia Ruiz-Koffman permalink
    July 6, 2010 10:56 am

    That’s funny – when it came time to rate people, part of my brain thought I should break down the e-mails and really look at people’s contributions, but then another part of my brain cut in and said that would be miserly – because these are all students like me and we’re all just doing the best we can in the short time that we have. I guess I chose “school spirit” over “true justice.” Ultimately, I guess there was the fallback of the instructor doing the “real” rating, and lord knows this is a tough class (at least for me!), so I chose the path of blind trust. This said, however, if someone had been abrasive, recalcitrant, or malicious, I definitely would have marked down that individual.

Leave a Reply

