Skip to content

Frank Djeng’s Final Project Topic

June 30, 2010
by

The Oakland Public Library website has retained its appearance over the years (www.oaklandlibrary.org).   But budget constraints means that upgrading the OPL site is probably not on the administration’s urgent to do list.  Therefore, for the final project, I hope that I will be able to upgrade their website at least partially, to make it more visually pleasing and also more usable.   Their catalog homepage is a relic of the 90’s, filled with frames and boxes:

http://catalog.oaklandlibrary.org/

And their magazines articles and databases link is the same:

http://www.oaklandlibrary.org/databaselist.htm#magazine

I know this may be a long shot–I need to seek their permission which I don’t see it as a problem, but my concern lies more with access to their server and various files, and I am not sure if this can be done by the due date.  Regardless, this is what I would like to do for my final project.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    July 6, 2010 9:03 am

    Frank,

    Same as Antonia, I think this is a little ambitious for the time frame. Have a look through the posts of past classes and see if you can come up with something with a narrower focus.

    derek

Leave a Reply

