Skip to content

Alexis Friedman’s Final Project Topic

June 30, 2010

I have two ideas that come to my mind when considering the content for my final project.  My first idea stems from my work in a community health clinic; we are constantly struggling to keep a list of up-to-date resources available to our clients.  I would love to create an electronic database in which all willing social service type organizations would be able to contribute/maintain/and update contact information and other pertinent information about services.  This way there would be one source that hopefully would be searchable with a variety of different parameters; i.e. geographically, services provided, insurance accepted etc.    However, I fear this might be out of my technical scope or beyond the time frame I have available this semester.  I may just get started collecting information about community resources and organizing them in a valuable way.  I am also really interested in researching more information about health 2.0.  I am thinking I might separate the site into two sections: resources and health 2.0/discussion and tools.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    July 6, 2010 9:07 am

    Alexis,

    First, a great idea; you can make an online pathfinder to resources for your served community. Second, you’ll need some PHP/MySQL experience to achieve the search functionality so that may need to wait for another day. But no reason not to start with a good baseline collection and a way for users and contributors to add to the collection.

    derek

Leave a Reply

