Skip to content

Second Life

May 9, 2010

I am glad to be finished with all of this Second Life business.  From my first encounter withe Second Life at the beginning of the this program I have found the fact that we are required to participate in Second Life really annoying. I still do not understand how creating an avatar in SL and visiting a virtual SLIS campus is helping me learn anything that is valuable to my MLIS education.

I find SL difficult to navigate, I play World of Warcraft, and I feel that WoW is much more “user friendly”. I found that it took me over an hour just to get my avatar dressed in SL, and as I was doing this some other person walked up to me and said “ewww” and walked away. If I want to play a game, I will play a game. I guess I don’t really “get” the point of SL, as it doesn’t seem to be enjoyable, and I have never learned anything valuable about LIS in SL.  I understand the significance of having a virtual campus for a program that is comprised mainly of “distance learners”, but I would much rather socialize with my classmates and professors through a social networking site, email or instant message.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

