Skip to content

Second Life Adventure

May 7, 2010

I have really mixed feelings about Second Life.  I’ve enjoyed reading the blog postings from the rest of my classmates and can relate to most of the feelings, both positive and negative.  I liked a lot of aspects of it (messing with my avatar’s appearance, flying around) but got really frustrated with some aspects (moving both myself and the camera).

I can see how SL could be useful for information presentation in a more interactive forum.  I’m doing my final project on Human Rights resources and while researching I came across a link to a SL presentation.  Unfortunately, it was out of date and no longer existed in SL but I can see how some organizations and people would use SL. It may not be the most effective way to communicate but it is just one more tool to reach people in different ways.

I don’t know if I’ll be back to SL to explore some more.  Part of me wants to but the other part of me thinks it would just become a big time-suck without much value.  I have spent a lot of time already and don’t feel like I’ve accomplished much (though I did make a potted plant….for what it’s worth).

I am glad we had to do this assignment.  I think knowing about SL and being able to do simple functioning in the program is useful.  If I come across another link to a SLurl I’ll know what to do to see the information.  Not sure how often this could happen but I’ll be ready!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

