Skip to content

Highly Annoying

May 7, 2010

This is my second SL experience, and I have to say that it’s more annoying than it is useful. I suppose I can see how (theoretically) SL could be used to some benefit by distance learners like ourselves. But really, it’s too much trouble! I agree with my classmates that the interface is abysmal. And I don’t know if it was my internet connection, my graphics card, or just the nature of the program, but SL for me was so choppy and took so long to load that it was really not worth it to wait around. And the music is terrible. I ended up going into my options and turning it off.

One aspect of SL that was new to me in this go-around was the use of microphones for communication. ANNOYING communication. There were people just running around and yelling at each other, anything from a 2-hour long conversation about virtual paperwork to idiots screaming “WHO WANTS TO HAVE SEX?!”

Very off-putting.

In general, I’m a fan of RPGs of any sort, but if SL was a commercial RPG, it would be shot down by every gamer out there. And if it is, as the professionals who use it claim, a place for online business interaction, then they really need to get rid of the sex-crazed morons running around with fox heads. Seriously.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

