Skip to content

Second Life Experience by Stephanie Angles

May 5, 2010
by

I entered into to this assignment already prepared with a second life account that I made in a previous class. I found that second life can be very confusing and frustrating at times. I found editing my appearance to be one of those very frustrating moments, I was trying to change the color of my shirt and ended up looking like a completely different avatar than I began with. Once I finally managed to change my avatar correctly, I felt like I was walking around an empty world by myself, once in a while I would run into someone but it felt more awkward than meeting someone new in real life. Second life is not something I would do on a regular basis just to walk around and meet random people, however if there was like a book club, or as means to meet for a study group I think it would be more interesting. I also think (perhaps this is possible and I don’t know how) that if users were able to use a headset with mic to talk and hear instead of typing second life would be more efficient.

Stephanie Angles

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

