Skip to content

Experiencing Second Life

May 5, 2010

For some reason, I thought that Second Life would be an easy and enjoyable activity for the MLIS student.   However, like every other activity, it takes a lot of time and practice to really master it.   Second Life is not a program I would not like to further explore in my free time because it is time-consuming and I don’t see the need for a fake, virtual world when there is reality.

I guess some benefits of being in Second Life are that you get to network (especially for distance education students) and you can put your creativity to the test.  Also, as Derek mentioned, it allows disabled people to do things that they normally cannot do in real life.  Realistically, for me, I think that creating an avatar in Second Life would look good on a resume and would ignite some interesting conversations in an interview.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

