Skip to content

Want to compare fonts?

April 9, 2010

http://www.typetester.org/

Creating web pages is completely new to me.  After making sure that the code is properly validated, I want to make sure it looks nice and realize that I spend more time selecting fonts than correcting code!  I found Typetester to be a great application that allows me to compare multiple fonts and make a final selection prior to web page inclusion.  I find that the ability to apply font and background color is especially useful.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. vwalker23 permalink
    April 9, 2010 8:21 pm

    Ooh, I like this very much. I’m also a big font nerd, so this will definitely come in handy later on. I used to like Chank fonts a lot, but most of them aren’t free (but they are beautiful sometimes).

    This “How to Make a Font” page from the Chank site amused me, while we’re on the subject:

    https://www.chank.com/howto/makeafont/

  2. moonayaco2k permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:08 pm

    Wow, thanks! This will come in handy not just for coding but for other projects. I’m bookmarking it right now…

  3. April 9, 2010 10:43 pm

    Thanks for posting this! I find myself spending so much time trying out fonts, colors, etc. and this will (hopefully) really lessen that time. I’m always up for more design help so I appreciate this site.

  4. aiwfy permalink
    April 9, 2010 11:15 pm

    thanks for this simple yet useful link. I sure could have used this page four years ago when I was taking graphic design classes. Even when I’m working on a document or a poster at work I spend most of the time trying out different fonts more than in the actual layout!!

  5. Deborah permalink
    April 11, 2010 11:56 am

    I agree with the other replies for this post. I spent way too much time deciding on colors for that darn table we put together a few assignments ago. I’m a visual person and it was important for me but does it matter to the person looking at the page? I get caught up in what I think looks good and forget what looks good to everyone else.

  6. April 15, 2010 9:30 pm

    I am also a font nerd. most people don’t even think about this but I think that even for them, it matters subconsciously. I hate comic sans. Check out the ban comic sans site. Pretty funny. And true.

Leave a Reply

