Skip to content

Creative Commons

April 9, 2010

While searching the web for images without copyright I discovered Flickr Creative Commons:  http://flickrcc.bluemountains.net/ It’s searchable and very useful to find images one can use without getting copyright permission.  I ran across some funny stuff, like baby pictures, but also saw quite a few images I could see myself using on a website.  I did a search for Idaho logging pictures and saw some interesting ones.

Of course, attribution isn’t required but should be used.  On the right panel there is an attribution statement that should be included when using the image.  These are people’s creative works so attribution is definitely a positive.

Lori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. aiwfy permalink
    April 9, 2010 11:19 pm

    Good, I’ve navigated flickr and some of the user created applications before, I enjoyed making a postcard out of my pictures. Here’s a link to another site where you can access images for free.

    http://www.gettyimages.com/CreativeImages/RoyaltyFree

  2. amigosito permalink
    April 10, 2010 12:02 am

    Creative Commons is an excellent resource for obtaining media for this type of project, and I was pleased to see it’s grown significantly. I also really like the federated search feature that allows you to search for CC works on other sites.

Leave a Reply

