Skip to content

Web Pages That Suck and music copyright

April 8, 2010
by

Besides being quite humorous, Vincent Flander’s Web Pages That Suck (http://www.webpagesthatsuck.com/ ) is really informative.   It reminds me of issues raised by Steve Krug in Don’t Make Me Think.   Web Pages That Suck offers examples of Web Sites from all different companies, businesses, organizations (both for and not-for profits), etc.,  that are poorly designed and contrasts them with those that are designed with the user in mind.  Web Pages That Suck evaluates Web sites, both past and present, on their usability and navigation, which can be looked at as examples for what not to do when designing a Web site. The Daily Sucker is a feature of Web Pages That Suck in which one current Website is highlighted, or I guess low-lighted, as an example of poor design. Articles and Web site re-design checklists are also available for anyone wishing to make their web pages more usable for their viewers. In the spirit of the assignment for week 10, I found an article on Web Pages That Suck that ties into using music on web sites. It can be found at http://www.webpagesthatsuck.com/no-music-files-on-web-sites.html . It discusses copyright laws associated with musical content, no matter if your a student like most of us or a multi-billion dollar company.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. jeremyhufton permalink
    April 8, 2010 3:29 pm

    Great site! Vince Flanders identifies some pretty clear losers, like Scene-Clean. What’s amazing is that some of these sucky sites probably cost lots of money, like the Hermès site. Anyway, I agree that you can probably learn a lot about what *not* to do by visiting webpagesthatsuck.com.

  2. benwingard permalink
    April 8, 2010 6:42 pm

    Yeah, this is really helpful for learning how not to organize a website. We talked a little about it in class, but it is nice to see some concrete examples of bad design

  3. April 8, 2010 7:33 pm

    HAHAHA. This post made my day. My favorite sucky page is the George Hutchens for Congress. That page almost blinded me. Definitely does not follow the parameters for usability. I will use this site as a reference if I ever need some advice for color schemes 🙂

  4. etansey permalink
    April 8, 2010 8:55 pm

    Oh man, that website does not lie!!! I found this sucky one, and couldn’t find my back button quickly enough (warning: turn down your volume)

    http://www.americanbeautybordercollies.com/

  5. waslohn permalink
    April 8, 2010 9:46 pm

    I wonder if intellectual copyright will be able to make it through the next century– unless DRM technology steps up, the sheer tide of pirating may cause a serious re-thinking of our systems. Or maybe I’m being optimistic because the real future will be a Blade Runner-esque distopia where a whole generation of people go broke from copyright infringement litigation. Who knows!

  6. April Mahrer permalink
    April 9, 2010 11:53 am

    I think the ‘sucky web pages’ site is incredibly helpful for people just learning to design their own pages. Yes, we may run across some yucky sites in our Internet travels, but some of the really yucky ones stay hidden from everyday view.
    One trick I’ve picked up from this class is checking ‘page source’ to see the innards of a website that intrigues me. I think sometimes this can also fall into the ‘sucky web pages’ category, although the yuck is on the inside rather than the outside.
    Both inner and outer yuck offer a lot to an aspiring web designer, but it is up to us to take the information from these sites and apply it to our future designs.

  7. amopar permalink
    April 9, 2010 1:05 pm

    I got several really good laughs out of this site, thanks for sharing it. My stages in processing the humor in this kind of site, and in the the optional Steve Krug book for this class, goes something like this: First, I’m laughing at how dumb designers sometimes are. Then, I laugh at how dumb users sometimes are. Then I laugh again when I realize I’m dumb all the time, too. Then I get one really good final laugh when I realize that we’re all pretty much a little bit dumb together…

  8. slisamy permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:19 pm

    I am secretly very afraid that I will create a website that sucks! So it’s great to check this site out and see what a professional labels as sucky, and more importantly, to read why. As a beginning designer, it’s easy to overestimate one’s own personal opinion and neglect the opinion of experienced professionals. My coworker likes to say that no one tries to give an electrician advice on wiring, yet when it comes to web design, suddenly everyone’s an expert!

  9. moonayaco2k permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:33 pm

    I have the same fear as slisamy! As I was looking at some of the websites, I thought some of them were okay. I guess I need to learn more about design as much as coding.

Leave a Reply

