Skip to content

Understanding PHP

April 8, 2010
by

I struggled with “php” so went looking for something to help me understand it a bit better. I found two articles, both of which I read and neither of which I understood. The Top ten tips for getting started with PHP was easier to understand than Validate an e-mail address with PHP, the right way (which was way over my head), so I went looking for something else. I found the site softwareobjects.org. http://www.softwareprojects.org/php-what-is-01.htm There is a list of 20 short articles that ranges from What Is PHP? to Your First PHP Script to File Handling PHP. The articles are written to allow even a novice to come away with a general idea of the article’s subject. There were references to Apache, Linux and MySQL and while I have heard of Linux, Apache and MySQL, it helped to go to locate short explanation of each. I found out Apache is the original web server software, MySQL is a regional database management system and Linux is an operating system. I think. Anyway, it is my understanding that they are all open source and free. I read most of the short articles and did come away with a better understanding of PHP.

The following two articles are from the King Library’s articles and databases section:
Top ten tips for getting started with PHP
Marco Fioretti May 2006 Linux Journal , Volume 2006 Issue 145
Publisher: Specialized Systems Consultants, Inc.
http://delivery.acm.org.libaccess.sjlibrary.org/10.1145/1140000/1134168/8709.html?key1=1134168&key2=3685870721&coll=portal&dl=ACM&CFID=12421101&CFTOKEN=86551462

Validate an e-mail address with PHP, the right way
Douglas Lovell June 2007 Linux Journal , Volume 2007 Issue 158
Publisher: Specialized Systems Consultants, Inc.
http://portal.acm.org.libaccess.sjlibrary.org/citation.cfm?id=1275012.1275016&jmp=cit&coll=portal&dl=ACM&CFID=12421101&CFTOKEN=86551462#CIT

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alexsjenkins permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:09 pm

    That website you mention early on does a pretty good job of giving a summary for the usage of PHP in layman’s terms. I appreciate the link. I liked the Top Ten link even more! It is also really simple and straight forward. The last link was a little over my head, but I can copy and paste – even though I might not understand “^[_a-z0-9-]+(\.[_a-z0-9-]+)*@[a-z0-9-]+(\.[a-z0-9-]+) ↪*(\.[a-z]{2,3})$” (haha!)

  2. oanhtran03 permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:58 pm

    I felt so great as I read your post. At least I now know I am not the only one who has a hard time reading articles on technology and can’t understand what the authors try to say. I really love that article on the top ten tips on php. That was so cool! As I read through the article, I recognized some of the mistakes I had made a few weeks ago. I have to say coding DOES require lots of attention to details.

    Thanks for such a great article!
    Oanh

  3. Julia Specter permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:35 pm

    I too am very glad that I am not the only one “lost” in some of the tech talk. Your articles were very helpful to me as well. Glad to see that there is some effort make to translate the tech “language” for those of us that are new to this stuff. Having a straight forward approach to the technology is hard to find, and glad you were able to swim through all the information, and found useful articles for people like me. But even if I don’t walk away from this class a tech geek one thing that I have also learned is that attention to detail is very important for any professional job or task at hand. I now make detailed list and check, double check and then check again.
    Thanks,
    Julia

  4. moonayaco2k permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:24 pm

    haha..it seems like many classmates are just as lost as I am! Thanks for sharing this website. I skimmed through the page and I’m still lost so I will definitely go back and read it thoroughly!

Leave a Reply

