Skip to content

Libraries and Mobile

April 6, 2010

I came across this blog and found it engaging. Though neither have I ever used an iPhone nor owned one, I think that multi-functional phones are a big trend that librarians need to keep an eye on. It is a way to serve more patrons outside the four walls of the library building. Well, as a library student, I’d better try playing with an iPhone to see how this machine and its apps work!
http://stephenslighthouse.com/2010/04/06/libraries-and-mobile/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 12:55 pm

    I think that those specifically designed sites are very interesting, but I really wonder how many patrons are specifically using those sites designed for mobile. But if you are good at css, creating a mobile site along site a normal site wouldnt be that much more time consuming.

  2. hlocsin permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:46 pm

    I agree that the iphone (and other smart phones…let’s not forget about the Blackberry!) are the “way of the future” as Howard Hughes a la Leonardo Dicaprio would put it. My Blackberry is like an extension of my body, and when I’m out and about things that don’t work on my Blackberry simply don’t exist in my world. My library recently came out with a version of our website for mobile devices, giving our patrons a way to access their accounts and look at our catalog on the go. I really agree with this decision as not having such a service kind of dates a website.

  3. Nathan permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:10 am

    Seeing all those iPhone library apps makes me want to ditch my old Blackberry, seriously. Also, after checking out the iPad last weekend, it seems to me that portable devices are now becoming nearly as capable as home computers. I can’t imagine not having a fully Web-capable phone in the near future. It seems to me that the distinction between Web pages for your PC and your phone will mostly disappear if you get yourself a decent phone in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

