Skip to content

Color Scheme Designer 3

April 6, 2010
by

http://colorschemedesigner.com/

This tool is very simple and I’ve found it to be very useful. It allows you to click on a spectrum and will give you a hue and complimentary tones which are all dependent upon your choice of mono, complement, triad, tetrad, analogic, or accented analogic. Not only will it show you the colors, but if you hover your cursor over the color, it will give you the hexidecimal code. Also, it allows you to see a “light version” and “dark version” of a sample website using that color scheme.  AND you can export the HTML, CSS, and XML for the palettes you create.I think it’s totally cool and my description hasn’t even done it justice. Of course it has a randomization button and it also gives you some statistics about vision stimulation.

Take a minute and have a look at it. You’ll never again be guessing at colors, or limited to only what is in the text.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. rparker715 permalink
    April 6, 2010 6:55 pm

    This resource is amazing – I wish I had seen it before I spent hours trying to coordinate colors on my own by guessing at different hexadecimal numbers. I like how it even comes with visual simulation for those who have different kinds of colorblindness.

  2. mwyngard permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:48 pm

    This is great! I get so frustrated with trying to find complimentary colors that at some point I usually just give up. Love that they provide the hexadecimal number as well.

  3. Nathan permalink
    April 8, 2010 9:51 am

    Wow, that is sweet. I’m usually more interested in substance than style, but with a tool like that at your disposal there’s no reason not make stylish sites that are easy on the eyes. Great tool.

  4. etansey permalink
    April 8, 2010 9:00 pm

    This is wonderful. I don’t have the greatest eye for color combinations. Maybe I’ll use this also for putting together my outfits 😉

Leave a Reply

