Skip to content

Stephanie Waslohn’s Final Project

March 12, 2010
by

My final project is about tying up some loose ends in my coding history, if you will.

Five or so years ago, I got my first library job based off of some vague knowledge of HTML and Dreamweaver. This job has opened so many doors for me, but when I go back and look at the web exhibit the ended up being the largest project for them actually using my “skills”, I am frankly disappointed with myself. The will and the design aesthetic is there, but the tables used and the random floating labels make me shudder a bit. I just lacked the know-how and the skill to finesse the project instead of bludgeoning it over the head with Dreamweaver. Look for yourself if you’re curious: Resonance and Response.

So, now the circle continues. Last month I was hired at San Jose’s Special Collections. While they hired me this time because of actual experience and my status in the program, not because I could make them frankly lame web sites. But, I want to use those resources to recreate, but improve infinitely upon the web exhibit idea.

The content will of course depend on what the head of Special Collections says goes, so this time not the gorgeous artist’s books (which the copyright question over was always vague– I remember sending individual snail-mail letters to all the artists asking for permission of use with a clause that if they didn’t reply, we’d assume it was given) but something with the copyright owned by San Jose State or beyond the rolling wall.

One Comment leave one →
  1. clementmunns permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:52 pm

    this sounds very good but will you have content by the end of semester to use? if so, making a site for a current employer/client is great

Leave a Reply

