Skip to content

Sarah Kim’s Final Project Idea

March 12, 2010

I work in the Children’s Department at the Huntington Beach Public Library.  I am most often asked by parents for recommendations for other books or series of books, because gosh, their kids have read everything or their kids don’t seem to care for anything.

What I propose for my final project is to build a site with book recommendations by readers’ ages, interests, past history (loved/hated Diary of  a Wimpy Kid or Harry Potter).  I would like to provide lists of recommendations for all age groups from the very young to teens.  I’d even include a guide to comic books and graphic novels.  Because not so secretly, I am a comic book fan.  I’d also include sample story time planning lists.  The site would be a reference for both librarians and parents, and also students in teaching programs and library schools.  I’d like to figure out a way to incorporate interactivity for the user by having them for example, choose yes or no if they liked a particular book and then a link would redirect them to another page with more book recommendations based on whether they liked that particular title.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rparker715 permalink
    March 20, 2010 6:48 pm

    This sounds like a very interesting project. I work in a small public library and I get a lot of similar questions, so I’m looking forward to seeing some of the resources you come up with!

  2. clementmunns permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:34 pm

    this is great!

Leave a Reply

