Skip to content

April’s Final Project Proposal

March 10, 2010

For my final project for Libr24o, I am looking at creating a website about Emergency Preparedness and Libraries. Topics to be covered may include:

Continuity of service with regards to displacement

Structural preparedness and staff preparedness

Resources for specific disasters in your area

Case studies of libraries which faced these challenges (my hometown library in Cedar Rapids, Iowa for example was flooded out of their main branch last summer)

And other topics to be decided. Although I haven’t done a ton of research into preparedness and libraries specifically, I have a strong background in disaster prep from my time at Red Cross, and personal knowledge/experience from my hometown experience. Plus its a topic I love, so that should make it easier to work on!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. etansey permalink
    March 10, 2010 5:54 pm

    I work at an academic library in New Orleans, which took in several feet of water during Katrina. I’ve only been here for 2 years, but recovery efforts are still ongoing with some of the collections that were damaged during the flood. I’d really be interested in seeing what you find! I know that the Society of American Archivists has some disaster preparedness documents on their website.

  2. clementmunns permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:26 pm

    great

Leave a Reply

