Skip to content

Week 5 Roundup

March 4, 2010
by

Again I am amazed by the quality of the student work. This will be a short post. Things to work on going forward:

  • a rather stunning number of students did not get the EC trivia point, which kind of blew my mind!
  • part of usability is a “consistent look and feel” so for those who did not style parts A/B of week 3 with the jello layout, you should do so
  • many of the student sites had unreadable footer content (font color needs to have high contrast with background) do this by changing the background property of the <a> element in the the footer div
  • a number of students choose Google as a usable web site and I applaud this–less is more
  • many chose library web sites as unusable and I applaud this; some of the worst I’ve ever seen, or used

In coming weeks we will address best practices for accessibility coding and conduct a collaborative assignment using Google docs.

Believe it or not, the hardest part of the course is now over; from here on out the student will be able to extend (read “copy/cheat”) current work. And where this isn’t done, I will provide templates and scripts to demonstrate more advanced concepts.

If any student is interested in doing more or pursuing this stuff further, I am available for consultation based on my experience with LIBR 246 courses.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rqpdx permalink
    March 4, 2010 4:43 pm

    I am definitely interested in pursuing this stuff further. I’m going to be taking less reference classes and more web 2.0 classes.

  2. Eira permalink
    March 4, 2010 9:00 pm

    Yeah, me too! Derek, it’d be really cool if you could write something in your next blog post about the other things you can learn connected to designing websites – even just a couple of sentences about the nifty things Ajax, mySQL or PHP can do. Because I’ve seen the 246 listings for these, but I still don’t have much of an idea (yet) about what these actually contribute to website design.

Leave a Reply

