Skip to content

Second Life

November 24, 2009

I’m of two minds when it comes to Second Life.  I like the idea that it is another way to connect with people from all around the world and that it is literally a “second world” that exists only in cyber space.  But in practice I just don;t feel comfortable in it.  Although I do enjoy flying.

Moving around was a little easier this time vs. a year ago when I took 203.  I had no trouble getting the snapshots.  I did find it funny that I was still able to get lost in the virtual world.

This was the first time I actually had ton interact with people.  I ran into some other folks in the 240 Room and hung out for a bit while we figured out where to meet Clem.  Again, oddly enough, just as awkward in the virtual world as i the real.  I don;t know if anybody was there when that guy in the black shirt wandered in asking about what this school was about and proclaiming that he wanted to “get some education”?  That was odd and uncomfortable.  Just like real life!  Ultimately that’s what I seem to take away from my several Second Life experiences:  The world around us changes, yet human interactions stay generally the same.

I generally am the same person in 2nd Life as I am in real life.  Perhaps I need to get more into the role playing aspect of it?

Lastly, I’m kind of bummed that I missed the large class meeting last week.  Having an actual class in 2nd Life seemed interesting.  (I din’t get around to that part of the assignment. )

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linnea permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:28 pm

    Haha, that WAS pretty weird when that guy showed up. He didn’t realize that it was a real class — he was so tickled when Derek sent him the SLIS link. He thought it was a joke! Awkward indeed.

Leave a Reply

