Skip to content

Jami’s Second Life experience

November 24, 2009

I originally made my avatar in LIBR 203, so I already had the basics of getting around in Second Life. I remember becoming frustrated with Second Life pretty quickly because as soon as I made my avatar, I instinctively wanted to make it look like me. The next thing I knew, I had blown an hour messing with appearance settings and my avatar still didn’t look anywhere near the way I wanted it. There were just too many options! I think the extreme customizability of this virtual world means that it takes a pretty big time investment to really gain control. You really can do whatever you want, but just like in the real world, it takes some practice to develop the skills to do those things you want to do. I have to say I was pretty proud of myself when I made my LIBR 240 t-shirt. The tutorial I followed made it much easier than I thought it would be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

