Skip to content

Callimachus’ Adventures

November 24, 2009

I found myself really jumping into Second Life this time around. When I made my avatar for 203, I was really frustrated with the clunkiness of SL (or of my computer system) and never entered again. This time, I spent a great deal of time interacting with others “in-world”, attending building classes, and just letting people show me around.

So many of the people here have invested a great deal of effort to achieve the level of SL knowledge that they have, and most remember what it was like to be a noobie. I met some very patient people who were very eager to help, and I was amazed at how willing they were to share so willingly all that they had learned. I was taken on some very interesting tours and tried to explore the information resource side of SL much more this time around.

My favorite location was the Dresden Museum, a museum of classical European art in a very elegant building, seen below.

Dresden Museum

Callimachus in the Ruebens Gallery

The Dresden is not only done well in terms of the quality of the build, but it is a great resource on European art. Many of the paintings have clickable icons that will deliver short audio lectures, like those you might get on headphones at a RL (real life) museum.

I felt strongly that many of the information resources found here are more generally quite accessible in traditional web formats. However, SL does a great job of presenting some of these in a much more experiential form. (Consider choosing an image of a Ruebens painting from a list vs. strolling the long gallery in a museum).

Eric Robinson

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie Roach permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:20 am

    Eric-
    That is so awesome! I really think that to succeed in second life it is important not to be shy and take some risks. How did you choose people to approach and ask questions of? Did you just do it randomly, or did you go to information islands/desks to be sure you were asking avs who were ready and willing to help? I’m curious about your experience, as I like to wander in SL but am a bit shy. 😉
    Thanks,
    Malkah Quintessa (aka Stephanie Roach)

  2. Eric Robinson permalink
    November 25, 2009 3:44 pm

    I think one of the best places to start, at least for me, was the SJSU social last Saturday (shameless SJSU SLIS Island plug?). It was really casual, just people chatting and virtual dancing, but everyone wanted you to feel comfortable and learn a little something. The building classes were good too, because those people know you’re there to learn. The Happy Hippo has some really good tutorials, and lots of freebies.

    Anytime someone or something caught my attention, I would just ask how they did that. That kind of sparked a conversation and the next thing I knew they were asking, “Hey, have you seen the Costa Rica surfing sim?” or telling me to check out the Dresden Museum.

    I also think I was just very lucky to meet a couple of incredibly nice folks. There was definitely the occasional person who just wanted to point, laugh, and generally just abuse the noob. 😦

    There is another SLIS social event this Friday. If anyone wants to attend, I’ll plan to be there and try to pay forward my experience.

  3. Eric Robinson permalink
    November 25, 2009 6:33 pm

    Here is the Info for Friday’s event:

    SJSU SLIS students are hosting a ?Day-after Thanksgiving? event on the SJSU SLIS Second Life campus Friday, November, 27th from 7:00 pm to 10:30 pm (PST) with music, dancing and a holiday movie.

    o) 7:00 pm – SLIS experts, students and friends assist new avatars with shopping for shapes, skins, hair, and clothes.
    o) 8:00 pm to 9:00 pm – Get help with media settings to hear music and watch video.
    o) 9:00 pm – 10:30 pm – Dance with a DJ host and watch the movie ?Santa Claus Conquers the Martians,” a 1964 science fiction cult classic.

    You may participate with absolutely no pressure, ask any question, and just have fun. This Second Life social event is open to all SJSU students, alumni, faculty, and guests.

    To attend this Second Life event on the “SJSU SLIS” Island, follow this link: http://slurl.com/secondlife/SJSU%20SLIS/139/101/33

    Contact avatars Clicquot Oh, Susie Schridde, or Silhshoot Seelowe after logging in if you have any questions or need help.
    If you wish, email Silhshoot@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

