Skip to content

Varaxy’s Second Life Experience

November 23, 2009

This was actually my first experience with SLife as in 203, I chose to do an alternate assignment.  The setup of the profile was fine and at first I was actually enjoying creating my avatar until I somehow deleted myself!  It was completely frustrating trying to reinstate my body.  I was literally a ball of smoke!  The interface was really difficult to comprehend and use as I looked everywhere.  While I thought the entire concept of SLife was really intriguing, my experience was really soiled by the fact that I ‘lost myself’.  I honestly almost gave up!  Of course, part of it had to do with me panicking but after I figured it out, it was relatively simple to navigate.  I don’t know if I would go back to Second Life beyond this experience though.  I’m not much of a person that would use this type of platform although I recognize the benefits it offers.  It just seems so much work!  However, the fact that it brings together the fun of gaming and creating your own character along with social interaction with people from all over the world is potentially quite fun.  It is what you make of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

