Skip to content

Jona’s Second Life

November 21, 2009

Like many other SLIS students, I too had a little bit of experience with Second Life from my 203 course.  I am pretty comfortable with choosing a basic avatar and modifying it to suit my preference.  I had never really constructed anything in Second Life, so I decided to visit the Ivory Tower Library of Primitives.  I took a walk around and built some little things here and there, and read a bunch of the notecards that were available for noobs.  I took a 30 minute class on manipulating basic prims, once I had the technique of creating and moving them.  Eventually, I built a wall with a linked glass window capable of reflecting sunlight.

I think that the idea behind Second Life is an interesting one.  However, I don’t think it’s where it needs to be in order to be taken seriously for grad-level education or corporate collaboration.  I think it could be a fun social networking tool, but I feel like there are so many other stronger tools for collaborative efforts, which don’t involve floors that disappear and too much effort spent modifying appearances.  I think I’ll stick with email and Facebook, at least until Second Life is a bit more stable, or my First Life is a bit less important to me…whichever comes first.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

