Skip to content

My Second Life Experience

November 19, 2009

This was my second time using the Second Life. The first time was for the requirement for LIBR 203 course. Honestly, the Second Life part of LIBR 203 assignment was my least favorite, and I remember being so discouraged and frustrated about the Second Life. My former classmate’s creepy story on the Second Life also made me stay away from it… It is strange that I felt somewhat unsafe being in the virtual world. I just did not get the point of the Second Life.
This time it was a little bit better because I was somewhat familiar with it, and I was not by myself. It was kind of fun to see all the different avatars and what you could do on the Second Life. There were lots of fun moments like the OMG, some avatars’ disoriented movements, and clothing…
Even after all these fun moments, I still have to say that the Second Life is not for me… I have never really been into avatars and virtual world. I understand that many businesses and organizations including libraries use the Second Life. I certainly think it is important for future information professionals to be familiar with the Second Life. It was a great opportunity for me to visit the Second Life for this week’s assignment because otherwise I would have not visited it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Veronica Arispe permalink
    November 19, 2009 6:28 pm

    I, too, have felt a bit unsafe in SL but I just ignore the people I don’t know even if they push my avatar around.

Leave a Reply

