Skip to content

Jessica N’s Final Project

October 6, 2009

Hi all,

I’m thinking about creating a website for librarians/architects/etc. interested in ways their libraries can go green.  I received my BA in Global Studies, which gave me the opportunity study the causes and effects of global climate change.  The topic is still of much interest to me, so I thought this idea would be a good way to combine my interest in climate change with libraries.  Comments welcomed =)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeanette Duffels permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:59 pm

    Hi Jessica! I think that’s an awesome idea. My BA is in Diplomacy and World Affairs, and climate change is an important issue for me too. You probably have already heard of this, but just in case, check out the LEED website.

    http://www.usgbc.org/DisplayPage.aspx?CategoryID=19

    You could feature some LEED certified libraries on your site.

    I recently visited the Santa Monica Library. The landscaping is awesome:

    http://www.smpl.org/sustainability/

    Good luck!

  2. aleaton permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:23 am

    Hi Jessica,

    Interesting idea! Sometimes it seems that the hardest part of “going green” is coming up with practical ways to reduce waste and help the environment. Having a resource where libraries could have access to those practical suggestions would undoubtedly help to promote that cause.

    Look forward to seeing what you come up with.

    Ashley

  3. Eric permalink
    October 7, 2009 1:25 am

    Jessica,

    I love this idea. There was a fascinating lecture on green architecture through the SLIS symposia last fall. She really gets into how various aspects of the architecture support heating, lighting, etc. to minimized energy needs. There were also some construction materials aspects that contributed to a smaller footprint as well. I’d tell you more, but it was a long time ago that I watched it. Well worth a peak.

    http://slisweb.sjsu.edu/media/mediaURL.htm#collDevlinFA08&menu_collFA08

    You might be interested in checking it out. (might even be worth a link on your site.)

    Eric

  4. clementmunns permalink
    October 8, 2009 4:05 pm

    Jessica,

    Great; consider it a go!

    Derek

Leave a Reply

