Skip to content

Veronica’s Final Project Ideas

October 5, 2009
by

I have two ideas in mind for my final project:

1. Create a website for LIS minority students with information regarding scholarships, grants, articles, institutions, programs, internships, fellowships, support groups, etc.
2. Create a website for parent’s of minority students (k-12) with information regarding counseling, support groups, homework assistance, translation services, helpful tips, links to organizations and clubs, links to different services provided for children and teens.

For #2 I will need to narrow down a list of minority groups in my community and I will need to find an avenue to help me translate lots of this information to their language.

Any comments or suggestions will be highly appreciated.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carlene Chiu permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:58 pm

    Thanks for your comments Veronica! I welcome any suggestions as this seems like a very ambitious project (unless I just stick to a form).

  2. nikkibush permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:19 am

    Hi Veronica,
    I think both of your ideas sound great! I don’t know if this would help your project, but on my work website we have the Google translation tool at the top and once you select a different language, it translates the page. I don’t really know about its reliability, but if you Google the translation tool, it gives you info on how to add it to your website.

    • varispe permalink
      October 6, 2009 11:42 am

      Thank you for your suggestion.

  3. Judy Sullivan permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:23 am

    Hi, Veronica:

    I like your ideas very much! I think both ideas will be very useful and helpful. Many foreign speaking students need help in ESL and basic computer (which is English based). The biggest obstacle is going to be finding good translation programs. Most of them (google included) are rough and the results can be called “Chinglish”, “Spanglish” and other similar versions. Since my home language is Chinese, I have found that the Yahoo 奇魔 (pronounced “chee moah”– means special magic) online dictionary works good. Here is the link: http://tw.dictionary.yahoo.com/ .
    Hope it is a helpful resource.

    • varispe permalink
      October 6, 2009 11:44 am

      Thank you for the link and your comments. I do agree with you in that most of the translations become something other than what they should be.

  4. linneamm permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:58 am

    I agree with the previous posters, both ideas sound great! Always important to have good resources for minority students and parents alike.

    Since the reliability of web-translation services is questionable, maybe your proposed site could focus on one main (non-English) language, for example Spanish, and perhaps include those translations. Then for other minority groups, the site could include links to any outside resources for students (ie. phone number or email address for any available outreach group/coordinator for each ethnic group).

    Sounds like a very worthwhile project. Good luck! 🙂

  5. clementmunns permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:50 pm

    Veronica,

    Either choice is fine. Consider which ever you choose to be approved. Also, I agree with the idea that #2 needs to be more focused.

    Derek

Leave a Reply

