Skip to content

Lynn’s idea for final project

October 5, 2009

While doing a research proposal for 285 last fall, I came upon a book on women’s reading lists of the 18th c. This was then the focus of my research proposal. Last summer, I continued with the project for 298 and did a paper with original research on advertisements in 18th c. newspapers that targeted women who read. So I would like to base my final project on the information from both 285 adn 298.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nikkibush permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:28 am

    Hi Lynn!
    This sounds really cool. It might be interesting to have a page on your site that lists present day reading lists/advertisements as a comparison to the 18th c. lists. Good Luck!

  2. pepslove permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:08 am

    This sounds fantastic to me, primarily because it fits the criteria of the assignment without having to revisit the content of all those core classes (which is the majority of what I’ve taken so far), and it sounds like you have plenty of material to draw upon. Very interesting indeed. It reminds me of some papers/chapters I read about the origin of libraries in America. Libraries, which in some cases, were meant to shape cultures via collections selected to encourage specific character traits or perspectives among their users.

  3. clementmunns permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:53 pm

    Lynn,

    You’re good to go. Consider the topic approved. I look forward to seeing the end result.

    Derek

Leave a Reply

