Skip to content

Corie’s final project proposal

October 5, 2009

Hi, I’m thinking about redoing my school library website yet again.  I started out using google sites and then last year I took libr 233 School Library Media Centers with Dr. David Loertscher and converted my website using pbwiki into a “Virtual Learning Commons”  I loved the idea, but now after using it for a year and reading Don’t make me think by Steve Krug, I think the wiki is just too confusing for staff and students.  I think this past year I increased the usage of the library webpage by teaching with it but the kids are just not familiar enough with the format and it looks confusing and busy.  I plan to take all the pieces of the wiki and lay them out on index cards on the kitchen table, just like Krug suggests and reorganize the website according to his principles for better web design.  I still think wikis have a place in libraries and schools, just not as the main portal into the library.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Gillis permalink
    October 5, 2009 4:16 am

    I think the index cards is a good strategy. Do you remember that one elementary VLC from 233 that had the 3 big “buttons” one for kids, one for parents and one for teachers, maybe it was SuperStar something? I liked that approach because beyond that each page can be customized for the audience, the kid one can have more graphics and the parent one be more linear. Do you think those pages are still available? This is the link for ours: http://sites.google.com/site/h3learningcommons/
    (I figured out the link turns “live” after you submit it.)

  2. clementmunns permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:51 pm

    Corie,

    Great. Consider it approved.

    Derek

Leave a Reply

