Skip to content

Lindsay’s Final Project Idea

October 3, 2009

My final project idea is to create a website to archive all the books and memorabilia I have. I currently do not work or volunteer at a library, but I wanted to practice archiving items online for anyone to see. I would like to go in to special collections or archives (especially for a museum or studio), and I enjoy archive websites that have not only lists of what they have but also photographs of the items and a little description about them. I would like to do that with the items in my place but focus just on my books and movie memorabilia and collectibles for practice.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffanie Wick permalink
    October 4, 2009 9:21 pm

    Lindsay,

    I really like your idea, it sounds like something I would want to do. Are you planning a table format or list style? Something like amazon? Goodness the possiblities are endless! I’m looking forward to seeing it.

    Tiff

  2. Jeanette Duffels permalink
    October 4, 2009 11:04 pm

    Hi Lindsay, I love your idea! I wish I had thought of it first. I don’t work for a library either. Good luck!

    Jeanette

  3. rushumble permalink
    October 5, 2009 6:04 am

    Thanks Tiff and Jeanette!

    Don’t know yet how I want it to look, but I like that way Oxford Art Online looks, or like DeviantART (which is a place for anyone to post their art–all kinds visual as well as literary). 🙂

  4. clementmunns permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:27 am

    Lindsay,

    This is a good project; but we may need to make sure it meets all the requirements of the project. On the upside, you can probably use XML and XSLT to create a flat file storage system. Could be very interesting.

    Derek

  5. llieuallen permalink
    October 7, 2009 5:25 am

    Hi Lindsay,

    Great idea! I don’t currently work in a library either, and my local library has an amazing web site already. So I was thinking I might copy your idea (and archive my genealogy records or my Star Trek action figures), until I came up with an idea of my own… Once you get into it, I bet you come up with additional pieces that will meet the project requirements.

    If you’ve taken a cataloging/classification class you could use what you learned to describe your items and talk about how you did that (like a mini lesson or “how to”)? You could also have a form (like the one we just learned) to solicit comments from students/librarians/archivists? Then if you really set it up outside of class, and got the word out – you’d gain a network of contacts in your field of interest.

    LINN

  6. Lindsay permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:14 pm

    Thanks Linn for the ideas! They sounds good! Good luck w/your project!

Leave a Reply

