Skip to content

Jona’s Final Project Proposal

October 3, 2009

For my final project, I’d like to blend my interests in web design and archives.  I would really like to create a website that contains digitized material in a way that is educational and interesting for children.  I assume that the usability factor will have to be carefully considered, because I not only want to build content that kids can understand, I also want them to be able to navigate across that content easily.

Basically I want to create some sort of web project that reflects my interests in archives and special collections, but is also fun and educational for children.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Gillis permalink
    October 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    The issue of “navigating across content easily” is the challenging part I think. I’m working with K-5 students now but last year I assumed I would be working with high school age since there are so few elementary librarian positions available so all the practice and thought I put into for HS kids is out the window and now I am thinking about how to gear things to younger kids. I have kids coming into the library who want to “play” on the computer during lunch. Kids want to be able to interact so it is not just navigating but being motivated to go somewhere on the site. Your project sounds great but definitely challenging. There is great potential there.

  2. October 5, 2009 1:17 am

    Hi Jona,

    I really like your idea. I love looking at the featured digital collections that are highlighted in the Libraries Direct from ALA each week. I think the Library of Congress has an interesting way of displaying some of their digital archives for kids at http://www.loc.gov/families/ (sorry I still haven’t figured out how to make a live link in the comments of this blog :).

    I would love to see what you come up with.
    Corie

  3. Judy Sullivan permalink
    October 6, 2009 4:34 am

    Hi, Jonas!

    Sounds good! If it is aimed at kids, you only need to remember three (3) things: -simplify, -simplify, -simplify (I can’t say it any simpler than that). You will have to use lots of interactive graphics and less words to navigate with.

  4. Jona permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:03 pm

    Hi everyone!

    Thanks for all of the great feedback, it’s really helpful!

    Did anyone ever read “From the Mixed Up Files off Mrs Basil E. Frankweiler”? (Details here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/From_the_Mixed-Up_Files_of_Mrs._Basil_E._Frankweiler) It’s basically about these two kids who run away and live in a museum. I LOVED this book as a kid.

    I started thinking about it today…I think I want my site to be sort of dark and mysterious, and how cool would it be if the kid had to, in a sense, navigate their way out of it by answering questions about artifacts they find along the way?

    I’ve decided to make the website I would have loved as a ten year old…

  5. clementmunns permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:42 pm

    Jona,

    Sounds good to me. Consider it approved. One thing to consider is how to get bibliographic instruction across to young seekers.

    Derek

Leave a Reply

